Once a recommendation has been sent, it cannot be edited. However, the sender can delete the recommendation and create a new recommendation to send to the same person.
Important: Only one recommendation can be sent to each connection. If the recipient hides a recommendation, the sender cannot send a new one. The sender must first delete their original recommendation before sending a new one. Learn more about how to hide a recommendation you’ve recieved.
To delete a recommendation you’ve sent:
- Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
- Click View profile.
- Scroll to the Recommendations section and click the Edit icon in the top right corner.
- Click the Given tab at the top of the pop-up window.
- Scroll to the recommendation you want to remove and click Delete.
- In the pop-up window, click OK when asked Are you sure you want to delete this recommendation?
- If applicable, create a new recommendation.
- The recipient won’t be notified that you removed your recommendation. It’s just removed from their profile. If you create a new recommendation, the recipient will be notified.
- If you’ve hidden your recommendations, and you don’t see the Recommendations section on your profile, you can access them by clicking the Edit icon in the Recommendations section and selecting Show recommendations you’ve hidden.